NatWest T20 Blast

live score ball by ball updates, complete schedule 2017 and team squads

NatWest T20 Blast Cricket League – Everything You Need to Know

Started in 2014 by England cricket board, NatWest T20 Blast is a league based cricket tournament. This league is played in England and Wales every year. Total 18 first class teams participate in this tournament that is further divided into 2 divisions, which means 9 teams in each division. NatWest T20 Blast cricket league replaced the Friends Life T20 tournament and started in November 2013. It is one of the biggest T20 competition played in England and Wales.

History of Twenty20 Cricket Leagues

13 June 2003 was the day when T20 matches foundation stone was laid by the English counties. First season of the T20 competition was a big hit in England. Surrey Lions won this tournament, defeating Warwickshire Bears in the final by 9 wickets and became the first Twenty20 champion, check match stats. 2004, 2nd season of the league gained much attraction of crowd that’s why more than 26,000 people came to watch the first match of this season.

Surrey Lions won this tournament, defeating Warwickshire Bears 2003

Image Source – espncricinfo

In 2009, England cricket board decided to give expansion to this tournament. They decided to start a tournament that include 20 teams, 18 from county and 2 overseas teams but soon that plan went into scrap. After that, in 2010, ECB introduced The Friends Provident T20 that was later renamed as Friends Life T20 league. 18 teams participated in this cricket league that were further divided into North and South divisions. Leicestershire and Hampshire were the top teams in the first 2 seasons of this newly named tournament. But in 2013, Northamptonshire outperformed everyone and won their first trophy.

The Friends Provident T20 Hampshire Winning Moments

Introducing NatWest T20 Blast Cricket League

In 2014, England cricket board announced NatWest T20 Blast cricket league sponsored by NatWest Bank. First season of the tournament received an overwhelming response and more than 0.7 million spectators came to watch nail biting t20 matches. Birmingham Bears won NatWest t20 2014, it was for the first time that a team won the trophy using a city name. Northamptonshire is the current holder of the trophy, they defeated Durham team in the finals of NatWest T20 Blast 2016. Right now huge number of people follow this t20 tournament, some watch it live in ground, some on TV and some people only check live scores of NatWest T20 blast cricket league.

NatWest T20 blast cricket tournament in England is similar to IPL (Indian Premier League) organized by India, PSL (Pakistan Super League) by Pakistan, CPL (Caribbean Cricket League) by West Indies and T20 Global League by South Africa. T20GL will start this year in December and it’s the 1st season of the tournament. NatWest T20 league is into its 4th season and its becoming a great source of entertainment for people in United Kingdom. It’s much bigger than the other cricket leagues tournament that we named above.

Format of NatWest T20 Blast

NatWest T20 Blast Format of Games

As we discussed above, there are 18 teams divided into North and South groups. During the group stage of the league each team plays 6 6 of the other teams twice, one match at their home ground and other on opponents ground. Team winning the match received 2 points, 1 point goes to both team in case of tie or abundance of match. Teams are ranked on basis of points they received and at the end of group stage top 4 teams qualify for the knockout stage of the league. The most amazing thing about this tournament is that, semi-finals and finals are played on same day in same ground mostly in Edgbaston. After the end of final match, there takes place a mascot derby race between the 18 counties.

Schedule of NatWest T20 Blast 2017

NatWest Twenty20 league scheduled to start in July and ends in the last week of August or start of September. During this tenure of more than 2 months 133 matches are played. Each team plays 14 matches in the group stage and 1 match in 2nd stage because it’s played on knockout basis. NatWest T20 Blast schedule 2017 has already been announced by the ECB and is already shared on espncricinfo. This year the first match of the tournament will be played on 07 July, 2017 and semi-finals and final will be played on 02 September, 2017. First match of the tournament will be played between Gloucestershire vs Middlesex in Cheltenham.

You must checkout the complete schedule of Natwest T20 cricket tournament 2017 because this will help you to mark the games of your favorite team. Get ready because the biggest T20 league in United Kingdom and rain of fours and sixes is just a month away.

NatWest T20 Blast 2017 Live Scores

NatWest T20 Blast Live Scores 2017

NatWest T20 Blast Live Score – Now a days everyone have a very busy life and people go through daily tough routine and they love to do everything on the go. It’s difficult for a cricket lover to go and watch a cricket match in stadium especially in weekdays. That’s why we bring you a simple we by which you can check live scores of your favorite team or all the matches. Simply visit our website and click on t20 blast live score updates and there you go, you will get every second update of the match.

NatWest T20 Blast 2017 Teams

NatWest T20 Blast 2017 Teams and Captains

Total 18 teams participate in this big T20 Blast cricket league. No other t20 tournament have such massive number of teams. These 18 teams are divided in two groups, South and North. Each group contains 9 teams and below are the names of teams participating in 2017 NatWest T20 Blast league.

  1. Birmingham Bears
  2. Derbyshire Falcons
  3. Durham Jets
  4. Essex Eagles
  5. Glamorgan
  6. Gloucestershire
  7. Hampshire
  8. Kent Spitfires
  9. Lancashire Lightning
  10. Leicestershire Foxes
  11. Middlesex
  12. Northamptonshire Steelbacks
  13. Nottinghamshire Outlaws
  14. Somerset
  15. Surrey
  16. Sussex Sharks
  17. Worcestershire Rapids
  18. Yorkshire Vikings

England cricket board have already announced NatWest T20 Blast 2017 teams and this time it includes many big names i.e Brendon McCullum, Shahid Afridi, Aaron Finch, Darren Sammy and many more.

Past Results of Twenty20 League

Below is the complete list of teams winning Twenty20 Cup, Friends Life t20 and NatWest T20 Blast, starting from 2003 to 2016:

  • Surrey won in 2003 defeating Warwickshire
  • Leicestershire won in 2004 defeating Surrey
  • Somerset won in 2005 defeating Lancashire
  • Leicestershire won in 2006 defeating Nottinghamshire
  • Kent won in 2007 defeating Gloucestershire
  • Middlesex won in 2008 defeating Kent
  • Sussex won in 2009 defeating Somerset
  • Hampshire won in 2010 defeating Somerset
  • Leicestershire won in 2011 defeating Somerset
  • Hampshire won in 2012 defeating Yorkshire
  • Northamptonshire won in 2013 defeating Surrey
  • Warwickshire won in 2014 defeating Lancashire
  • Lancashire won in 2015 defeating Northamptonshire
  • Northamptonshire won in 2016 defeating Durham

Leicestershire Foxes, Hampshire Royals and Northamptonshire Steelbacks are the most successful teams of the T20 leagues played in England. We will also share the NatWest T20 matches results and stats which include a detailed scorecard and bowling stats.

NatWest T20 Blast 2017 Tickets

NatWest T20 Blast 2017 Tickets Buy Online

Biggest cricket league in UK begins on July 7, 2017. Tickets for all matches are available now and you can buy it online from ECB website. If you are looking for discounts or deals visit Viagogo for NatWest Blast T20 tickets purchase.

For more stuff related to the NatWest T20 cricket league, keep visiting our website

NatWestT20Blast © 2017
%d bloggers like this: